We Built This City (By Design)

City Skyline WebMany times we believe we’re done when our design is complete. This not necessarily the case. Too often, designers put their artwork in a portfolio and that’s about as far as it goes when it comes to displaying their work. Dream a little deeper than the folded ends of a binder or the back end of a Google ranking for your designs.

Try and imagine where you would like your designs to be put on display. I’m not saying it’s easy getting designs published or getting people to pay you large sums of cash for your designs, but you can still understand that importance of displaying your design is just as important as the design itself. Presentation is a huge part to getting your designs noticed.

For example, if you prepare a meal for some food critics, but don’t take the time to make the portions look appealing; then the food won’t seem as appealing to those who are eating it. It won’t matter how good the food tastes. If your presentation isn’t appealing then it’s going to be hard to sell your design.

Let me show you what I mean. Take a look at some of these examples…

art gallery design ireland

Art gallery 2

Art gallery 3

All these designs are displayed within a design, an architectural design. So how do you display your designs? Are they displayed in a way that is appealing to the eye, where the design isn’t the only thing catching the eye of your critic. Think about lighting, framing, balance and central focus in constructing your own display.

Right now I’m going through the process of redesigning my website. For the most part, I’ve had an online portfolio for years now, but I recently discovered this idea of display. Hopefully it might bring some inspiration to some who are looking for an edge in the graphic design market when you go into that interview. Keep building that portfolio but remember to keep in mind that displaying your designs is just as important as creating them.

Here’s small sample of what I’m working on right now to display my portraits. It certainly isn’t the best looking thing in the world, but it can give you an idea of what I working toward and give you a better idea of what I’m talking about…

Art Display

My plan is to actually draw the room next, so everything coincides with the designs. This is that component in the heart of design where planning becomes execution. Definitely you could do more with the room. I could make it a different color or maybe throw in some different lighting. The point is, when it’s done, these portraits I’ve designed will have a greater appeal to viewers because of the display.

The entirety of my plan is to actually have an individual room setting for each website page. When I go to place this display on my website, I will have more room to move things around. Thus making every piece of artwork more appealing, rather than just having my designs just sit there in cyberspace.

Leave a Reply

